July 2, 2022


Complete News World

Caricom reaffirms its commitment to strengthening cooperation with Cuba | News

Gaston Brown, leader of the Caribbean Community (Caricom) and Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, reiterated on Wednesday that the regional camp maintains its commitment to strengthening ties of friendship, cooperation and solidarity with Cuba.

read more:

Carla Natalie Barnett has been appointed General Secretary of Caricom

In the framework of the 49th anniversary of the establishment of relations between Caricom and Cuba, Brown emphasized that since December 8, 1972, cooperation between the two sides has developed “towards a mutually beneficial and mutually beneficial relationship.”

“Carico and Cuba have a lot to be proud of. The friendship that has been developing for almost half a century is a rare milestone in the history of any relationship. The member states of the community value strong and lasting relations very much.

In addition, he highlighted the island’s solidarity with the Caribbean countries in the fight against the corona virus epidemic, affirming that the move is “a clear example of continued solidarity in meeting Cuba’s own challenges.”

“The relationship has been strengthened by the formal relations of engagement that have developed over the years, as well as efforts to strengthen South-South cooperation and trade relations, in which both sides can further achieve,” Brown said.

The Prime Minister commented that Karikom hoped that its relations with Cuba would continue to grow in the years to come and extended his congratulations on the well-being and prosperity of the Cuban people.

See also  Ferrocarriles de India avanzan a la electrification total

In turn, the Cuban Foreign Ministry released a message highlighting the date and stressed that they were “proud of our Caribbean identity and the progressive development of political relations and cooperation.”

Founded in 1973 in Caricom, Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad. And Tobago.