October 6, 2022


Complete News World

Caricom reaffirms unconditional support for Haiti during crisis – Diario Digital Neustro Boss

Georgetown, August 28 (Prinza Latina) Leaders of the Kaiban community (Karikom) have reiterated their unconditional support in trying to overcome the current challenges, the regional mechanism said in a statement today.

This position was acknowledged during a meeting of senior officials of the Caribbean Committee the previous day, devoted to analyzing the situation in Haiti in the aftermath of the July 7, August 14 earthquake and tropical storm following the assassination of President Juanel Moss. To that country.

The forum discussed the political and humanitarian situation in Haiti and received updates directly from its Prime Minister, Ariel Henry, who summed up the actions taken by his government into three priorities.

In this regard, he noted the need for relief and reconstruction in the aftermath of the earthquake, the need for credible and transparent elections and a full investigation into Moss’ murder.

At the meeting, Caricom noted that “it must be at the forefront of ensuring that its member country, Haiti, has a fresh start when it recovers” and that the current crisis is a good opportunity to rebuild the country. Meeting.

In that regard, participants provided social assistance to member states with experience in areas such as the electoral process, judicial and investigative support for assassinations, the restructuring of democratic institutions, and the fight against crime and violence.

Similarly, it pledged to meet the immediate needs of the country, the importance of the humanitarian response and to fund a solid and well-coordinated vaccination effort in the fight against Govt-19.

The conference was chaired by the Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda and current Caricaturist Gaston Brown and the new General Secretary of the community, Carla Barnett.

See also  Cuban ambassador to Ukraine condemns US hostility - Prinza Latina

Leaders or members of the Board of Directors of Belize, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Jamaica, Montserrat, Guyana and Suriname participated.